It’s Friday, and this week we are being gifted some chill, mellow indie rock and fresh synth-pop tracks (but no Frank Ocean just yet). While you wait for Boys Don’t Cry to drop (or not), catch up on these soon-to-be classics featuring a variety of sounds, from punk rock courtesy of Creative Adult to new hip hop by Slim Thug.

Creative AdultFear of Life
Bay Area punk band Creative Adult is embracing a more melodic sound with their new album, Fear of Life. As fall draws near, this album is a perfect way to hold onto the last few days of summer we have left.


DJ SnakeEncore
DJ Snake has some dope names in his new Encore. Skrillex, Jeremih, Young Thug, Travis Scott, and Justin Bieber came together with the French producer best known for his viral track “Turn Down For What.”


Field MouseEpisodic
Field Mouse is back two years after the release of 2014’s Hold Still Life with Episodic, an album that features with a range of emotions within each song and easy listens throughout.


Haley BonarImpossible Dream
Folk-rock singer/songwriter Haley Bonar started making music in 2001, but today she releases a captivating album that NPR said signifies her “coming of age” as a musician.

Noiseland LP GATEFOLD Sleeve

Prinze GeorgeIlliterate Synth Pop
Passionate Brooklyn-based act Prinze George takes synth-pop to a new level. Trancing vocals and upbeat synths bring together this unique trio.


Russian Circles Guidance
Russian Circles’ seven-track Guidance is a sick return from their 2013 LP Memorial. Each song rocks just a little harder than the last, with massive instrumentals that inspire the ear.


Slim ThugHogg Life, Vol. 4: American King
This Houston MC has been releasing uplifting raps since the first release of his Hogg Life series. The last chapter of his musical autobiography tackles some pressing issues in today’s society.


Toro y MoiLive from Trona
Toro y Moi’s worldly influences make it hard to put him in a specific genre. His funky guitar and piano lines complement the softness of his voice in a unique way.


Wild BeastsBoy King
Boy King is Wild Beasts’ fifth studio album and takes a fresh approach to the UK rock band’s typical sound. Their steady drums and dreamy synths are a perfect complement to Thorpe’s vocals.


Wye OakTween
Indie-rock duo Wye Oak is back with a mellow eight-track album that’s unique in that it is packed with songs repurposed from music they made from 2011-2014, so it’s essentially a compilation of unreleased music they have created over the years.