Happy new year, LAmb readers! This week’s list of notable new album releases includes some blasts from the past in addition to one of my personally most anticipated albums. Check it out and be sure to let me know in the comments if I missed one of your favorite releases of the day.

Above and BeyondWe Are All We Need
British trance trio Above and Beyond releases their highly anticipated fourth studio album today. This album was a labor of love for the group’s fans (the names of their biggest are included in the album art), and it is the first album to feature new material since the release of Group Therapy in 2011.


Belle & Sebastian – Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance
This is the Scottish band’s ninth studio album and their first release on Matador Records. Early reviews have called this album the group’s “purest pop yet,” but today you get to be the judge of that.


Fall Out Boy – American Beauty/American Psycho
American Beauty/American Psycho is this American rock band’s sixth studio album through Island Records and the follow-up to their comeback album, Save Rock and Roll.


The Decemberists – What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World
Portland indie folk/rock band The Decemberists release their seventh studio album today. Their last album, The King Is Dead, debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 four years ago and lead to a GRAMMY nomination. Looking forward to listening to this newest addition to their discography.


Lupe Fiasco – Tetsuo & Youth
Wasalu Muhammad Jaco (aka Lupe Fiasco) releases his fifth studio album today, and with one GRAMMY win already under his belt, I’m interested in finding out if this album has what it takes to land him another.


Man Without CountryMaximum Entropy
Band members Ryan James and Tomas Greenhalf fuse electronic sounds with uptempo rhythms, and according to Ryan and Tomas, this new album is “based around the idea of entropy and how everything we see and know is continuously and irreversibly deteriorating.”

man without country maximum entropy

Marilyn MansonThe Pale Emperor
This ninth album by the controversial metal artist and his band will feature sounds that older fans will know and love while updating the group’s style with new and edgy rhythms for those who may not be as familiar with Manson’s prior work.


Derek GrantBreakdown
Alkaline Trio drummer Derek Grant releases his solo debut today, an effort inspired by his real-life battles with substance abuse and divorce.


Viet Cong – Viet Cong
Calgary-based garage/post-punk amalgam Viet Cong’s self-titled introductory 7-song LP is full of loud noises and purposeful sounds that will likely leave you intrigued and wanting more.


Ryan BinghamFear And Saturday Night
Los Angeles-based singer/songwriter Ryan Bingham is back with his fifth studio album release. After winning an Oscar, a GRAMMY, a Golden Globe, and a Critic’s Choice award for 2010’s “The Weary Kind,” Bingham will be exploring another side to his music on this album while still highlighting his honest and gripping style.