North Carolina-based indie label Merge Records has been celebrating its unlikely 25th birthday this year. Started way back in the day by two members of Superchunk to release their own records and those of their fellow artists, Merge’s extraordinary longevity is a testament to the duo’s hard work and good taste, evidenced by their launching of a few legendary careers along the way (not least that of the now-enormous Arcade Fire).

This year has been punctuated by celebratory concerts and re-releases, but the important thing is the label’s continuing relevance to the independent music scene. I’ve compiled a playlist for you below of music released over the last year or so by the label, as well as a couple of songs from forthcoming albums by old Merge favorites. As you can hear, there’s still plenty to look forward to from these guys.

Merge Records at 25 Tracklist:

1. Caribou – “Can’t Do Without You”
2. Wye Oak – “Glory”
3. Hospitality – “Going Out”
4. William Tyler – “A Portrait of Sarah”
5. Reigning Sound – “In My Dreams”
6. Superchunk – “Void”
7. Vertical Scratchers – “Way Out”
8. Mikal Cronin – “Change”
9. Spoon – “Do You”
10. Richard Buckner – “When You Tell Me How It Is”

For more info:

Merge Records