After twelve years as the frontman for My Chemical Romance, Gerard Way announced he would distance himself from MCR fans a few months ago after the band’s breakup. Transitioning into a much-anticipated solo career, the charismatic singer has announced a release date for his debut solo album, Hesitant Alien.

After mourning the loss of My Chemical Romance, I am so excited to see what the former frontman has created. While the first released single, “Action Cat,” is reminiscent of the harder pop-rock genre My Chemical Romance dominated, Way has said he plans to explore a more mellow musical style.

Working with producer Doug McKean (My Chemical Romance, Tegan and Sara, Goo Goo Dolls), Way knew immediately what he wanted Hesitant Alien to sound like. “I wanted to make the small things sound big,” Way announced in a press release yesterday. “My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument, the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school, Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein, and I drew a lot of influence from shoegaze and Britpop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people.”

Lyrically, Way wrote about what he knew at the time, “which was struggle, beginnings, finding a newness in the mundane and the abstract,” he said. “I looked to the Britpop poets like Jarvis Cocker and Damon Albarn, drawing upon every day life. I also experimented with the abstract, and looked at Frank Black’s work both with the Pixies, and as a solo artist. There was no concept and no call-to-arms.”

Hesitant Alien will be released on September 30th via Warner Brothers Records and will be available for pre-order online through digital retailers beginning Tuesday, August 19th. Exclusive album bundles can also be ordered on Gerard Way’s website, and fans who pre-order the album will receive the track “No Shows” instantly as a free download.

Hesitant Alien Tracklist:

01) “Bureau”
02) “Action Cat”
03) “No Shows”
04) “Casting Shadows”
05) “Millions”
06) “Zero Zero”
07) “Juarez”
08) “Drugstore Perfume”
09) “Get The Gang Together”
10) “How’s It Going To Be”
11) “Maya The Psychic”

For more information on Gerard Way:

Official Website

Lead photo by: Eric Ray Davidson