Producer, songwriter, musician, and lover of oversized hats Pharrell Williams starts most of his songs the exact same way. That’s the takeaway after listening to Discopop’s mix of Pharrell’s song intros, which could be summed up as this: Song Introductions 101 by Pharrell Williams, Professor of Repetitive Composition.

Spanning tracks from throughout the artist’s career thus far, the compilation was featured as part of Discopop’s blog post “Is Pharrell incapable of writing intros?,” and it has us wondering the same thing. Although Pharrell is a very successful producer who has turned out countless hits over the years, it is pretty crazy to listen to so many sound bites put together and hear that, yes, they do all include an almost hilariously simple, beat-based calling card.

This lighthearted collection includes some of Pharrell’s biggest songs, such as Snoop Dogg’s “Drop It Like It’s Hot” and his own recent smash hit “Happy.” Discopop also noted in his article that on Pharrell’s most recent album release, G I R L, seven out of the album’s 10 songs start the same way. His formula? Take the first beat of the first bar, loop it four times, and launch into the song itself.

Good luck unhearing it, guys.

Songs Featured:

01) SWV – “Right Here”
02) Jay-Z – “Frontin'”
03) Kelis – “Milkshake”
04) Snoop Dogg – “Drop It Like Its Hot”
05) Robin Thicke – “Blurred Lines”
06) Shakira – “Why Wait”
07) Frank Ocean – “Sweet Life”
08) Pharrell Williams – “Brand New”
09) Paloma Faith – “Can’t Rely On You”
10) Pharrell Williams – “Happy”
11) Pharrell Williams – “Hunter”
12) Jay-Z – “I Wish”
13) Pharrell Williams – “Gust Of Wind”

For More Information:

Pharrell’s Official Website