Ever since my discovery of Aphex Twin’s seminal Richard D. James Album in the late-nineties, I’ve been pretty certain that if I ever need to fulfill my strange craving for esoteric and innovative electronica I can go to the Warp Records roster, throw a dart at a list of their acts, and almost certainly come up with something worth listening to. Founded in Sheffield in 1989, the label has become synonymous with a certain kind of artist and has almost without fail been ahead of the curve for innovation, both in the music on the label and the videos produced for its artists.

The label’s expansion into Warp Films (whose most prominent release to date this side of the Atlantic has been This Is England) is not so surprising when looking at some of the iconic visuals associated with its acts. This is a short and by no means definitive playlist of songs that will give you an impression of both the historical context of the label and its continuing relevance. The following videos contain imagery that once seen is never forgotten, from Elijah Wood’s robot arm parts to that thing in the “Come To Daddy” video. Approach that particular video with caution because it might lead to sleepless nights.

Warp Records: A Playlist tracklist:

01. Plaid – “Itsu”
02. Aphex Twin – “Come To Daddy”
03. Squarepusher – “Come On My Selector”
04. Broadcast – “Come On Let’s Go”
05. LFO – “Freak”
06. Battles – “Atlas”
07. Flying Lotus – “Tiny Tortures”
08. Darkstar – “Amplified Ease”
09. Mount Kimbie – “You Took Your Time” feat. King Krule
10. Oneohtrix Point Never – “Still Life (Excerpt)”

For more info:

Warp Records’ website