Acclaimed alt-rock band The Smashing Pumpkins are back with a re-release of their 1996 five-disc box set The Aeroplane Flies High. The box set originally contained a collection of the band’s top singles with expanded versions of singles from their excellent Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, including “1979,” “Bullet With Butterfly Wings,” and “Tonight, Tonight.” The new release also includes unreleased demos as well as live, re-mastered, and audio/visual tracks, together clocking in at a whopping total of 104 songs.

The Aeroplane flies high

The Aeroplane Flies High is out on July 23rd via Virgin/Ume. The Smashing Pumpkins are currently working on new music along with more reissues, so it’s a pretty exciting time for the band’s many fans.

Catch the LA Music Blogcast on TradioV LA tonight from 8-10pm for some cool commentary on the upcoming reissue!

For more information:

The Smashing Pumpkins’ official website