As a staple of the genre since back in the day, Darkthrone has long been characterized as the legendary black metal act that they are, but what many people don’t know is that Darkthrone has changed a lot since conception.

Traversing from a thrashy beginning into a more technical death-metal flavor (listen to Soulside Journey!), the legendary act fronted the ’90s black metal blizzard without question, but since then, we have seen Darkthrone continue to grow and experiment with everything from hardened crust punk to the old-school metal we all know and love.

Such is the case with The Underground Resistance, the new release from the Norwegian duo on Peaceville Records, which marks the group’s first studio effort since 2010’s Circle of Wagons. The album is six tracks long, and its epic closer “Leave No Cross Unturned” can be streamed via Pitchfork.

darkthrone album

With obvious influence from such legendary acts as Sodom and early Celtic Frost, this release is strewn with classic heavy metal riffage and a broad range of vocal styles. Commented Fenriz on the album, “Three songs each, Ted’s are flown from the universe of metal with his strongest voice ever so far. Songs of mine are torn from the wombs of the Riders of Rohan of metal, safely cradled in 1985 style.”

The album was recorded Spring 2010 to Summer 2012 at Necrohell 2 Studios by the band and mixed in Texas by Jack Control at Enormous Door. The cover artwork is courtesy of Jim Fitzpatrick, a celebrated Celtic artist, and here’s your random trivia for the day: Jim Fitzpatrick is also famous for his 1968 two-tone portrait of Che Guevara.

The Underground Resistance Tracklisting:

1. Dead Early
2. Valkyrie
3. Lesser Men
4. The Ones You Left Behind
5. Come Warfare, the Entire Doom
6. Leave No Cross Unturned

The album can be bought directly from the Peaceville Records web store or through iTunes. For more information: