I spent much of the holiday break belatedly checking films off my 2012 “must see” list (the unconventional love stories Moonrise Kingdom and Safety Not Guaranteed ended up being my favorites, in case you were wondering), but I still haven’t carved out time to watch the show at the top of my “must see” television series list: Girls. I was already fairly certain I would love the show, and looking at the tracklist for the Girls – Volume 1 soundtrack, out tomorrow, I’m now convinced that the series is firmly within my wheelhouse.

Girls volume 1 soundtrack

Featuring Santigold, Grouplove, Fleet Foxes, Sleigh Bells, Tegan and Sara, and more, the soundtrack is rife with exclusive tracks, including one from creator Lena Dunham’s boyfriend Jack Antonoff’s band fun. (maybe you’ve heard of them?). The song was written for Some Nights but didn’t make the cut due to a sampling issue, but after reworking the chorus, “Sight of the Sun” now has a home on the Girls – Volume 1 soundtrack. The song premiered via Rolling Stone today, and you can check it out below, along with the rest of the tracklist.

Girls – Volume 1 Deluxe Edition (digital only) Tracklist:

1) Robyn – “Dancing On My Own”
2) Fun. – “Sight Of The Sun” (exclusive to the Girls soundtrack)
3) Harper Simon – “Wishes And Stars”
4) Santigold – “Girls” (exclusive to the Girls soundtrack)
5) White Sea – “Overdrawn”
6) Grouplove – “Everyone’s Gonna Get High” (exclusive to the Girlss soundtrack)
7) Sleigh Bells – “Infinity Guitars”
8) Tegan & Sara – “Fool To Cry”(exclusive to the Girls soundtrack)
9) The Echo-Friendly – “Same Mistakes”
10) Icona Pop – “I Love It”
11) Belle & Sebastian – “I Don’t Love Anyone”
12) The Troggs – “With A Girl Like You”
13) Fleet Foxes – “Montezuma”
14) Oh Land – “White Nights”
15) Generationals – “Yours Forever”
16) The Vaccines – “Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)”
17) Lia Ices – “Love Is Won”
18) Michael Penn – “On Your Way” (exclusive to the Girls soundtrack)

Let me know what you think of “Sight of the Sun” in the comments, and be sure to pick up your copy of the album when it’s released tomorrow.

For more info:

Girls official site