Less than two more weeks until Ben Gibbard’s solo debut, Former Lives, drops, and after getting a chance to hear the Death Cab for Cutie frontman perform tracks from said debut live at Largo a couple of weeks ago, I can confirm that this is a release well worth getting excited about. If you’re a fan, I’m sure you’ve already racked up the plays on “Teardrop Windows,” the first single released from the album, so now’s your chance to check out a second track from Former Lives, “Something’s Rattling (Cowpoke).”

A third track, “Bigger Than Love,” featuring songstress Aimee Mann, can be heard via NPR’s Fall Music Preview of “All Songs Considered,” so check those songs out, and if you like what you hear, be sure to pre-order Former Lives at Ben Gibbard’s website and pick up tickets to his show at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles on November 14.

Former Lives Track Listing:

01. Shepherd’s Bush Lullaby
02. Dream Song
03. Teardrop Windows
04. Bigger Than Love
05. Lily
06. Something’s Rattling (Cowpoke)
07. Duncan, Where Have You Gone?
08. Oh, Woe
09. A Hard One to Know
10. Lady Adelaide
11. Broken Yolk in Western Sky
12. I’m Building a Fire

For more info:

Ben Gibbard