Today marks the release of albums from a few artists who had previously taken a hiatuses from their musical endeavors but are now ready to hit the ground running again — which is good news for us listeners!

Hot Chip – In Our Heads
Hot Chip’s fifth album, In Our Heads, is one of the top albums on my personal “must hear” list, and thanks to NPR, I can say that this quirky electro-pop outfit has taken these past two years to create some definitely danceable tunes that live up to their past albums.

Metric – Synthetica
Synthetica, Metric’s follow-up to their 2009 album, Fantasies, is another standout. Oh, how I’ve missed Emily Haines’ contralto voice, oozing with deep emotional pain and coupled with the post-punk, rock vibes of the whole Metric crew.

Fiona Apple – The Idler Wheel…
Now let’s talk about Fiona Apple’s new album, The Idler Wheel…. Fiona has not released an album since 2005, making this album my most anticipated release of the day. Her sound has definitely morphed, showing her personal growth and the depth of focus she has dedicated to finding herself. The single off the album, “Every Single Night,” is hypnotic, and judging by the number of listens it received on her Soundcloud, struck a chord (pun intended) with many other listeners, as well.

POP ETC aka The Morning Benders are releasing their first album under the new moniker, and I can only hope that the name change does not imply a change in their musical style. The Morning Benders had just hit their stride with Big Echo, garnering much more wide-spread popularity for the band than their previous two albums did. It would be a shame to fix something that wasn’t broken to begin with, but we’ll just have to keep our fingers crossed.

Check out some other albums that dropped today.

Dent May – Do Things

Grace Potter and the Nocturnals – The Lion The Beast The Beat

Jaill – Traps

The Tallest Man on Earth – There’s No Leaving Now

Wintersleep – Hello Hum

Usher – Looking 4 Myself