Back in 2007, labelmates and regular collaborators Aesop Rock and El-P released two of the best rap albums of recent years on the semi-legendary underground label Definitive Jux. Both have been relatively quiet since then, and indeed Definite Jux itself is currently “on hiatus” as a normal label. In recent weeks, both men have broken their silence to announce new albums after five years away from the mic. This should be a pretty exciting summer for fans of these dextrous wordsmiths.

El-P will be releasing Cancer for Cure on May 22nd through the Fat Possum record label. The eclectic list of guests on the album include Paul Banks from Interpol, the much-hyped Danny Brown, and Killer Mike (whose forthcoming album also lists El-P as producer). The album will be the official follow up to 2007’s I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead. The tracklist is below after the rather nifty album artwork:

Cancer for Cure Tracklist:

1 Request Denied
2 The Full Retard
3 Works Every Time
4 Drones Over BKLYN
5 Oh Hail No [ft. Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire and Danny Brown]
6 Tougher Colder Killer [ft. Killer Mike and Despot]
7 True Story
8 The Jig Is Up
9 Sign Here
10 For My Upstairs Neighbor (Mums the Word)
11 Stay Down [ft. Nick Diamonds]
12 $4 Vic/FTL (Me and You)

Following this, Aesop Rock will be releasing his new album, Skelethon, on July 10th through the Rhymesayers label. It’ll be the sixth solo LP from the New York native, and the first since 2007’s None Shall Pass. Once again, the album artwork and tracklisting are below:

Skelethon Tracklisting:

1. Leisureforce
2. ZZZ Top
3. Cycles To Gehenna
4. Zero Dark Thirty
5. Fryerstarter
6. Ruby ’81
7. Crows 1
8. Crows 2
9. Racing Stripes
10. 1,000 O’Clock
11. Homemade Mummy
12. Grace
13. Saturn Missiles
14. Tetra
15. Gopher Guts

A co-headline tour may be too much to ask for, but hopefully we’ll be seeing both men in Los Angeles over the summer to promote the new material. In the meantime, click below for a teaser of the new El-P album, the monster tune (and unfortunately named) “The Full Retard.”

Aseop Rock is keeping us waiting, but surely it will be worth the wait.

For further details on the new El-P album, visit his artist page at Fat Possum Records.

For further details on Aseop Rock’s new release, visit his website.