Perhaps one of the biggest underground/not-so-underground music acts to pop up this year was Abel Tesfaye, also known as The Weeknd. The artist had been spotted and pretty much endorsed by Drake, and since this discovery, The Weeknd has not stopped producing music. He appeared on Drake’s latest effort, Take Care, and in what appeared to be a thoroughly planned release schedule, he dropped two free mixtapes early this last spring and summer, entitled House of Balloons and Thursday.

Now, after deserved hype and anticipation, The Weeknd has fulfilled this so-called “Balloons Trilogy” with the release of his third free mixtape, Echoes of Silence.

Following in the footsteps of his previous mixtapes, Echoes of Silence provides nine tracks of sumptuous and experimental hip-hop stylings, continuing and/or building on themes surrounding the other releases, including a cover of the late Michael Jackson’s “Dirty Diana.” Also following the same release pattern, Echoes of Silence has been made available as a free digital download.

As preparation for the completion of his trilogy, The Weekend has provided a tantalizingly lengthy music video for the track “The Knowing” from House of Balloons, which you can view below. If you haven’t had a chance to check out The Weeknd’s previous offerings, free downloads are available at his website as well.

The Weeknd – Echoes of Silence Tracklist

  1. D.D
  2. Montreal
  3. Outside
  4. XO/The Host
  5. Initiation
  6. Same Old Song
  7. The Fall
  8. Next
  9. Echoes Of Silence