Finnish metallers Amorphis have just announced an appearance at the Gibson Amphitheatre in January–their first tateside show since 2008!  The band, along with LA natives Dommin, will support Nightwish for this special, one-off event.

Amorphis guitarist Esa Holopainen commented on the announcement, “The opportunity of playing exclusive show with Nightwish came about around February. We’re totally excited about the idea as we didn’t have a chance to do a tour in the U.S. with the Skyforger album. Now we have a special show where we will try to offer as much material as possible from the last two albums. It’s a great privilege to be part of an evening which is going to be memorable and special for everyone.”

The band’s new album, The Beginning of Times, hit #1 on the Finnish charts and saw a North American release yesterday, June 7th. It was produced by the band, with vocals recorded by Marco Hietala.

The Beginning Of Times Track Listing:

  1. Battle For Light
  2. Mermaid
  3. My Enemy
  4. You I Need
  5. Song Of The Sage
  6. Three Words
  7. Reformation
  8. Soothsayer
  9. On A Stranded Shore
  10. Escape
  11. Crack In A Stone
  12. Beginning Of Time
  13. Heart’s Song (digipack bonus track)

The video for their new single, “You I Need,” can be viewed below:

The LA show will serve as a precursor to Amorphis’ appearance on the 70,000 Tons of Metal cruise, which is scheduled to set sail on January 23, 2012. Although the full 40 band lineup has yet to be revealed, below is the official billing disclosed so far:

Grave Digger
In Extremo
My Dying Bride

For more information on Amorphis, check out: