Donald Glover EP

If you have not familiarized yourself with the rapper Childish Gambino, it is certainly time you do so. Before we explore his music career, however, you should be aware that you might know this artist by his real name, Donald Glover. Donald is the actor/comedian who plays the character of Troy Barnes on the NBC comedy series Community, and he is also known for his hilarity with the sketch group, Derrick Comedy. The multitalented artist is now remarkably climbing up the musical branch of the entertainment industry under the stage name Childish Gambino.

Gambino previously had five different releases since 2008, and he released this newest EP via his Tumblr account ( on March 8 (download it here). The EP, which is titled EP, has many of the familiar sounds of new age hip-hop, but it’s complemented extraordinarily by Gambino’s loud and standout style and impressive songwriting. To put it simply, this EP is pretty awesome. It’s pleasantly strange to hear such a funny comedian put together a heartfelt and sincere musical project that touches on such personal subjects.

Donald Glover The EP

The EP starts off strong with “Be Alone,” which describes the artist’s unfortunate past relationship issues that many of us can relate to, and it effectively advertises his lyrical prowess and ability to write a good song. The second the track starts, Gambino’s singing is backed by heavy and hard-hitting production that makes it hard to not be impressed by how talented he truly is. To top it off, the rest of EP continues to give that impression.

Gambino is craving recognition for being a talented rapper, and as a hip-hop fan, it’s clear to me that he deserves the respect he demands. This release should shake up the industry and prove that Childish Gambino is undeniably a force to be reckoned with in the hip-hop game, and this is exactly what his song “My Shine” strongly preaches. It’s safe to say this won’t be the last time we hear from Childish Gambino, and I think we can expect a full album coming soon due to the work ethic that can easily be heard in the artist’s music. Oh, and if you don’t find this actor/comedian/writer/singer/rapper impressive enough already, he also co-produced EP. This release is definitely worth a listen, and it may unfortunately be overlooked since it’s from a known comedian, but Donald Glover is clearly more than that.

Childish Gambino EP Tracklist

01 – Be Alone
02 – Freaks and Geeks
03 – My Shine
04 – Lights Turned On
05 – Not Going Back
06 – Not Going Back ft. Belinda Malaika

For more on Childish Gambino: